### SWIFTS COMPETITION NEWSLETTER

#### Season 2019-20 Issue 22 1 March 2020



## **Match summary**

Our U12 girls' B team played away to Lightwater in the ACDBL on Saturday and won 10-0.

The U12 mixed A team played at home to Horsell and lost 1-7.

The U14 girls' B team played at home to Berkshire and lost 0-10.

## **County representation**

Lila Dundas played in the Surrey U18 first team that defeated Sussex in the Shires League at the weekend.

Dominic Nabasa, Katie Remment and Jacob Sheffield were all in the Surrey U18 second team that suffered defeat at the hands of Kent.

# **National circuit results**

On Saturday Siddhanth Shirol played in the BE U13 Milton Keynes Gold tournament and reached the semi-final of the mixed event.

## Local tournament results

The ACDBL held the second day of its singles tournament on Sunday, with U12s and U16s having their turn to compete.

In A grade the U12 girls' event Abigail Barnfield was the event winner, Sarah Devapragasam was runner-up and Udita Sharma reached the semi -final.

Nived Neelakandan reached the U12 boys' semi-final.

The U16 boys' event was won by Hayden Mitchell.

In the B grade, Shaurya Chhabra reached the U12 boys' semi-final.

Thomas Henderson won the U16 boys' event while Sam Carter was a semi-finalist.

## **Another new member**

We welcome another new member this week. She is Sanjana Satish who is U9 and joins our 8:30am beginners' session. She will be taking part in our graded singles tournament on Saturday.





Badminton England Club of the Year 2017

Surrey Heath Sports Club of the Year 2016

#### If the training is easy the match will be hard, but if the training is hard the match will be easy.

SWIFTS JUNIOR BADMINTON CLUB www.swiftsjbc.org.uk

Match Secretary Cliff Buffham 17 Green Hill Road Camberley GU15 1PF

Phone: 01276 25078 E-mail: cliff\_buffham@ntlworld.com Page 2

# **ACDBL match scores**

Venue:	Lightwater	Date:	<b>29 Feb</b>	2020	<b>Opposition:</b>	Lightwater		
<b>Result:</b>	Won 10 - 0				Away	<b>U12B Girls</b>		
	Swifts	Emma Ranson	Udita Sharma Lara Ardali		<b>Evangeline Stewart</b>	Meera Ramamurthy		
	Opposition	Tiffany Lau			Stephanie Lau	Bella Robson		
	Home Players		Score		Away Players			
	Tiffany Lau	Lara Ardali	8	21	Emma Ranson	Udita Sharma		
	Stephanie Lau	Bella Robson	18	21	<b>Evangeline Stewart</b>	Meera Ramamurthy		
	Tiffany Lau	Stephanie Lau	6	21	Emma Ranson	Evangeline Stewart		
	Lara Ardali	Bella Robson	10	21	Udita Sharma	Meera Ramamurthy		
	Tiffany Lau	Bella Robson	15	21	Emma Ranson	Meera Ramamurthy		
	Lara Ardali	Stephanie Lau	18	21	Udita Sharma	Evangeline Stewart		
	Tiffany Lau		8	21	Emma Ranson			
	Lara Ardali		7	21	Udita Sharma			
	Stephanie Lau		17	21	Evangeline Stewart			
	Bella Robson		14	21	Meera Ra	mamurthy		
			0	10				

Venue:	Lightwater	Date:	29 Feb 2020		<b>Opposition:</b>	Horsell
<b>Result:</b>	Lost 1-7				Home	U12A Mixed
	Swifts	Kartikey Sarin	Nived Neelakandan		Holly Ranson	Abigail Barnfield
	Opposition	Sarth Bankar	Oscar Liu		Gabi Booth	Ella Dai
	Home Players		Score		Away Players	
	Kartikey Sarin	Holly Ranson	18	21	Sarth Bankar	Gabi Booth
	Nived Neelakandan	Abigail Barnfield	21	20	Oscar Liu	Ella Dai
	Kartikey Sarin	Holly Ranson	20	21	Oscar Liu	Ella Dai
	Nived Neelakandan	Abigail Barnfield	20	21	Sarth Bankar	Gabi Booth
	Kartikey Sarin	Abigail Barnfield	12	21	Sarth Bankar	Ella Dai
	Nived Neelakandan	Holly Ranson	15	21	Oscar Liu	Gabi Booth
	Nived Neelakandan	Holly Ranson	10	21	Sarth Bankar	Ella Dai
	Kartikey Sarin	Abigail Barnfield	13	21	Oscar Liu	Gabi Booth
			1	7		

Page 3

## **ACDBL match scores**

Venue:	Lightwater	Date:	29 Feb 2020		<b>Opposition:</b>	Berkshire	
<b>Result:</b>	Lost 0 - 10				Home	U14B Girls	
	Swifts Temisha Veeramootoo		Connie Vooght		Sara Kulkarni	Emma Ranson	
	Opposition	Tesha Arun	Emilia Hamilton		Dhruvi Shah	Lucy Liu	
	Home Play	Score		Away Players			
	Temisha Veeramootoo	Connie Vooght	8	21	Tesha Arun	Emilia Hamilton	
	Sara Kulkarni	Emma Ranson	10	21	Dhruvi Shah	Lucy Liu	
	Temisha Veeramootoo	Sara Kulkarni	8	21	Tesha Arun	Dhruvi Shah	
	Connie Vooght	Emma Ranson	14	21	Emilia Hamilton	Lucy Liu	
	Temisha Veeramootoo	Emma Ranson	8	21	Tesha Arun	Lucy Liu	
	Connie Vooght	Sara Kulkarni	9	21	Emilia Hamilton	Dhruvi Shah	
	Temisha Veera	13	21	Tesha Arun			
	Connie Voo	17	21	Emilia Hamilton			
	Sara Kulkarni			21	Dhruvi Shah		
	Emma Ranson			21	Lucy Liu		
			0	10			